Learning Labs (campus drop-in tutoring settings)

Spring 2019 Learning Lab Information (drop-in, no appointments required)

UTS offers a number of campus  drop-in  Learning Lab settings where students receive free tutorial assistance without an appointment. Labs are staffed by qualified tutors and faculty members are often present in the lab to assist students. 

Many Learning Labs also offer access via the ZOOM online interface available to you as a currently enrolled Appstate student. To participate via ZOOM during operational Lab hours, simple click on the ZOOM login link provided in the detailed Lab info, and enter the ZOOM Room ID # in the launch field that will appear.  

Learning Labs will not be operational during any official University weather related closures or delays.

Choose from the following active Learning Lab site links for Spring 2019 information.

Campus Learning Labs

For Assistance in ACC 1050, ACC 2100 & ACC 2110. Tutors are members of Beta Alpha Psi.

  • Schedule of Operation: Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursdays 5:00-8:00 PM / 3012 Peacock Hall
    • First Day of Lab:  Tuesday, January 22nd
    • Last Day of Lab: Wednesday, May 1st
  • Faculty Advisor: Bill Pollard, pollardwb@appstate.edu, 262-6206 
  • Due to "Meet the Firms"  or Exam Days the Lab will not be operational on:
    • Tuesday, February 14th (Meet the Firms)
    • Tuesday, February 19th (First Exam)
    • Thursday, February 28th (Meet the Firms)
    • Thursday, April 4th (Second Exam)
    • Thursday, April 18th (Meet the Firms)

(Currently ZOOM Online Tutoring access is unavailable)


Spring 2019 Tutors

TutorsEmail
Anderson, Colbyandersoncg1@appstate.edu
Brand, Jessicabrandjl@appstate.edu
Brown, Vanessabrownvu@appstate.edu
Carmody, Kylecarmodyke@appstate.edu
Doyle, Katherinedoylekm@appstate.edu
Lee, Jeongwookleej6@appstate.edu



For drop-in assistance with most Freshman-Junior level Chemistry coursework. Lab is staffed by faculty approved tutors.

  • Schedule of Operation: Monday-Thursday 5:00-8:00 PM 
    • First Day of Lab:  January 22nd
  • Location: 104 Anne Belk
  • Lab Manager: Andi Olivet / olivetar@appstate.edu / (828) 262-3060

Participate Online with Zoom:

You can also participate in this CHE Learning Lab ONLINE during these posted operational hours!  Simply go to link posted below and click and the tutor on duty will receive your "Join the Group" Request. 

CHE Learning Lab via ZOOM Meeting Room: https://appstate.zoom.us/j/4517653627


Spring 2019 Tutors

Evelyn Colemancolemanee@appstate.edu
Stephanie Dawsondawsonsb@appstate.edu
Liv Dunningdunningon@appstate.edu 
Madeline Milesmilesma2@appstate.edu 
Hannah Muuriseppmuuriseppha@appstate.edu 
Taylor Warnockwarnocktr@appstate.edu
Abigail Wilsonwilsonaa2@appstate.edu

Tutors are scheduled daily that can address all lower level Math Coursework and have also succeeded in the Calculus series, Real Analysis, Linear, Modern and the Stats sequences for secondary teachers. There will be someone there with Excel knowledge.

For assistance in most 1000-2000 level Math coursework. This lab is staffed by math tutors, graduate assistants, and Math Department faculty.

  • Spring 2019 Schedule of operation: 5:00-8:00 pm Sunday-Thursday, 
    • First Day of Lab:  Thursday January 17th
  • Learning Lab Location: 103A Walker Hall
  • Faculty Advisor: Lisa Maggiore, lm72407@appstate.edu, 265-8647 

Participate Online with ZOOM:

You can also participate in this General Math Learning Lab ONLINE during these posted operational hours!  Simply go to link posted below and click and the tutor on duty will receive your "Join the Group" Request. 

General Math Learning Lab via ZOOM Meeting Room: https://appstate.zoom.us/j/6368522310


Spring 2019 Tutors

TutorEmail AddressMath Skill Set
Kaitlyn Burkett burkettke1@appstate.eduTBA
Matt Hefner hefnermw@appstate.edu 
Catherine Lattimore lattimoreca@appstate.edu 
Sydney Singleton singletonsl@appstate.edu 
Briquelle Martin  martinbl5@appstate.edu 
Ansen Gunawan gunawanjc@appstate.edu 
Leah Hurt (GA)hurtla@appstate.edu 
Sam Powell (GA)  powellsp1@appstate.edu 
Charlotte Cave (GA) cavecm@appstate.edu 
Averia Padgett (GA) padgettag@appstate.edu 
Emily Yontz (GA)yontzer@appstate.edu 
Jose Salazar (GA)salazarj@appstate.edu 
Katelyn Benson (GA)bensonk@appstate.edu 
Matthew Owen (GA)owenmh@appstat.edu  
Abbie Roberts (GA)robertsag@appstate.edu 
Asuka Wallace (GA)wallaceaj1@appstate.edu 
Olivia Lesslessom@appstate.edu 
Karlie Neigelneigelka@appstate.edu  
William Dulaneydulaneyw@appstate.edu 
Evan Goldgolde@appstate.edu 

For drop-in assistance with Econ 2030, 2040, 2100, 2200 level coursework. Lab is staffed by tutors approved by the Economics Department.

  • Schedule of Operation: Monday-Thursday 5:00-7:00 PM 
  • Location: 208 D. D. Dougherty Hall (UTS Lab)

Participate Online with ZOOM:

You can also participate in this Economics Learning Lab ONLINE during these posted operational hours!  Simply go to link posted below and click and the tutor on duty will receive your "Join the Group" Request. 

ECON 2030-2040 Learning Lab via ZOOM Meeting Room: https://appstate.zoom.us/j/8317514657


Spring 2019 Tutors

For drop-in assistance with 1101-1151 level coursework. Lab is staffed by tutors approved by the Physics Department.

  • Schedule of Operation: Monday-Thursday 5:00-7:00 PM 
  • Location: 206 D.D. Dougherty Hall

Participate Online with ZOOM:

You can also participate in this Physics Learning Lab ONLINE during these posted operational hours!  Simply go to link posted below and click and the tutor on duty will receive your "Join the Group" Request.  

Physics Learning Lab via ZOOM Meeting Room: https://appstate.zoom.us/j/4082279462


Spring 2019 Tutors

For drop-in assistance withMath 1035 and Econ 2100, 2200 level coursework. Lab is staffed by tutors approved by the Math and Economics Departments.

  • Schedule of Operation: Monday-Thursday 5:00-8:00 PM
  • Location: Walker Hall Room 309

Participate Online with ZOOM:

You can also participate in this Math 1035 and Econ 2100-2200 Learning Lab ONLINE during these posted operational hours!  Simply go to link posted below and click and the tutor on duty will receive your "Join the Group" Request.  

Math 1035 / Economics 2100-2200 Learning Lab via ZOOM Meeting Room: https://appstate.zoom.us/j/3357169522


Spring 2019 Tutors

Operational Hours: Monday-Thursday 5:00-8:00 PM

Location: 177A Rankin Science West

For Assistance in BIO 1201, 1202, 1801, 1802 and possible some 2000 level coursework

Participate Online with ZOOM:

You can also participate in this Biology Learning Lab ONLINE during these posted operational hours!  Simply go to link posted below and click and the tutor on duty will receive your "Join the Group" Request.  

Biology Learning Lab via ZOOM Meeting Room: https://appstate.zoom.us/j/6813227943


Tutors for Spring 2019

Hannah Vroomanvroomanhl@appstate.edu
Valeria Del Castilloroadelcastillo@appstate.edu
Madison Simonsimonmt@appstate.edu
Chris Souflissoufliscl@appstate.edu
Jessie Hatcherhatcherjd@appstate.edu
Erica Pauerpauereg@appstate.edu
Andy Mendozamendozaa1@appstate.edu
Caroline Guthrieguthriecd@appstate.edu
Andrea Derasderasam@appstate.edu
Walter Somervillesomervillew@appstate.edu
Fahiima Mohamedmohamedfa@appstate.edu
Brandon Shortshortbd@appstate.edu
Morgan Smith (GA)smithmo1@appstate.edu
Taylor Strope (GA)stropeta@appstate.edu
Gita Gajjar (GA)gajjarga@appstate.edu
Tom Hastings (GA)hastingstp@appstate.edu
David Burton (GA)burtondl@appstate.edu
Ashley Yaun (GA)yuanae@appstate.edu
Georgia Harrison (GA)harrisongr@appstate.edu
Susan Cragg (GA)craggsl@appstate.edu



 

Operational Hours: Sunday-Wednesday 6:00-9:00 PM

Location: 311 Anne Belk Hall

For Assistance with CS 1100, CS 1440, CS 2440 and possibly some other 2000 level coursework

Participate Online with ZOOM:

You can also participate in this General Math Learning Lab ONLINE during these posted operational hours!  Simply go to link posted below and click and the tutor on duty will receive your "Join the Group" Request.   

Computer Science Learning Lab via ZOOM Meeting Room: https://appstate.zoom.us/j/5882902401


Tutors Spring 2019


The University Writing Center offers free services to students, faculty, and staff of Appalachian State University. Anyone who would like to discuss a piece of writing with an informed, sensitive reader is welcome. We are here to work with writers on a wide variety of projects: papers for academic courses; masters and senior thesis chapters; personal essays for job, graduate school, and law school applications; creative writing projects; grant or project proposals; and course syllabi. We work with writers at any stage of the writing process, from inventing topics to editing at the sentence level.

Go to http://www.writingcenter.appstate.edu for hours of availability! You can drop-in or schedule appointments (online).

The Geology Answersphere is the in-house tutoring system in the Department of Geology and the McKinney Teaching Museum. Geology majors are available to assist students in introductory geology classes. Funding from the College of Arts and Sciences makes the Answersphere possible.

  • Schedule of Operation: 5:30-8:30 pm, Sunday-Thursday
  • Location: 108 Rankin Science South (McKinney Teaching Museum)